Support the independent voice of alumni. Subscribe today.

HOF Winners 2019: Ashley Killough

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

Ashley Killough is a reporter-producer for CNN covering Congress and based in the network’s Washington Bureau. Prior to reporting from Capitol Hill, she covered the field of Republican candidates in the 2016 presidential race as an embed producer for two years, ending on Donald Trump’s campaign. 

Since joining CNN in 2011, Killough has held a variety of reporting and producing roles covering politics across multiple platforms. From Plano, Texas, Killough is graduate of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and Baylor University and spent a year in Armenia on a Fulbright grant working on journalistic projects. At Baylor, she participated in the BIC program and majored in international studies and journalism. Ten years later, she is still catching up on her sleep, but she might have chosen the wrong career for that goal.

Ashley got her start in journalism while working at The Baylor Lariat, where she covered the Baylor administration as well as the 2008 presidential election when candidates came through Central Texas. The political bug never quite left her after that.

*Photo credit to Kathryn Krueger*

Latest from Baylor Line

Rooted in Green and Gold

In 1903, a ritual known as “tree-planting” was born. Each year, students would gather on the Quadrangle and scoop dirt

The Making of Beth Allison Barr

Dr. Beth Allison Barr is the James Vardaman Endowed Professor of History at Baylor and author of “The Making of


Searching for Sharon Herbaugh

Despite all obstacles, the war correspondent was devoted to getting the story and relentless in following it to the end.<br

Moving Energy Home

What’s the Future of Power in Texas? Two Baylor Professors Discuss Options for campus and Waco, Texas.

Baylor Line MAgazine

With over 75 years of storytelling under its belt, the award-winning Baylor Line Magazine is now available digitally. Support this vital, independent voice of Baylor alumni by becoming a member today!