Keep up with the latest from Baylor Line. Subscribe today.

Baylor Line is supported by our sponsors! Become one today.

BAA presents Retired Faculty Award

RFA 2010 attendeesThe 2010 Herbert H. Reynolds Retired Faculty and Administrators Award was presented to recipients on Saturday, May 8, at a luncheon held in the Cashion Building of the Hankamer School of Business.

The award is presented each spring at a luncheon co-sponsored by the alumni association and the Retired Faculty and Administrators Program. With the number of exceptional faculty and administrators Baylor produces, choosing a select few to honor can be an overwhelming task. But since 1981–when the Baylor Alumni Association recognized such legends as Martha Barkema, P.D. Brown, and Guy B. Harrison–the association has been recognizing retired members of the Baylor faculty and administration who have shown professional merit during their university service.

This year’s Retired Faculty Award recipients are Carolyn Backus, Buddy Gilchrest, and Stanley Wallace Campbell (posthumously accepted by Robbie Howell). Retired Administrators Award recipient: C. Thomas Newsom.

To see photos from this year’s event, please visit our photo galleries.

Latest from Baylor Line

Bears on Skis

Joe Gage III grew up on the water, his summer days occupied by buoys and the never-ending pursuit of the


If You Grill It, They Will Come

Hungry Wacoans and Baylor students continue to build Jake Patterson’s Yaki dreams. Teriyaki as it is known today first originated

The Great Waco Water Watch

The City of Waco’s contingency plans for keeping water flowing for residents is top of mind as Texas sizzles in

A (Suspension) Bridge Over (Brazos) Water

The Brazos River’s temperamental mood swings made the cattle driving business unreliable, difficult, and frequently dangerous. In 1866, shortly following

Waco’s Historic Houses of Worship

The Mayborn Museum special exhibit, curated by Dr. Kenneth Hafertepe, is spotlighting where residents find solace in the divine throughout

Baylor Line MAgazine

With over 75 years of storytelling under its belt, the award-winning Baylor Line Magazine is now available digitally. Support this vital, independent voice of Baylor alumni by becoming a member today!