Keep up with the latest from Baylor Line. Subscribe today.

Baylor Line is supported by our sponsors! Become one today.

Foundation now accepting nominations for January alumni awards presentation

The Baylor Line Foundation (BLF) is now accepting nominations for its alumni awards, which will be presented after a four-year absence on Jan. 28, 2017, at a gala dinner in the Barfield Drawing Room at the Baylor Student Union Building.

“We are excited to revive the Baylor Alumni Association’s three-decade-long tradition of honoring outstanding alumni across generational, geographic, and professional lines,” said Laura H. Hallmon ’96, JD ’99, who chairs the BLF’s Programs Committee. “Through a process of nomination and review by professional and personal peers, these awards shine a spotlight on the impressive diversity and accomplishment of those who stand in the legendary Baylor Line, focusing on those who have contributed to the Baylor family in ways that go well beyond their willingness to provide financial support.”

The Nelson-Dudley-Boulet family received the 2013 First Families of Baylor Award Photo: Baylor Lariat
The Nelson-Dudley-Boulet family received the 2013 First Families of Baylor Award.  Photo: Baylor Lariat

The BLF is accepting nominations from members of the Baylor Family (link to application) for awards in the following categories:

  • Distinguished Alumni Awards. Dating back to 1965 when they were first presented, these are the highest honors bestowed by the Baylor Line Foundation (and the Baylor Alumni Association before it) and recognize Baylor graduates whose records of service in their professions and vocations have merited the honor and acclaim of peers and colleagues.
  • Outstanding Young Alumni Awards, recognizing alumni under 40 years of age who have distinguished themselves in their fields early in their careers.
  • W.R. White Meritorious Service Award is named in honor of former Baylor President W.R. White and recognizes individuals who have rendered noteworthy service to Baylor in any area. The recipients do not have to be former students or graduates of Baylor.
  • First Families of Baylor Award, recognizing families whose names are inextricably linked to Baylor University – families that have sent several generations of students to Baylor and whose members often have been university leaders.
  • George W. Truett Distinguished Church Service Award, which recognizes those whose ministries exemplify the life and career of George W. Truett and who live out the university’s motto, “Pro Ecclesia, Pro Texana.”
  • Herbert H. Reynolds Retired Faculty Members and Administrators Award. These awards, named in honor of former Baylor President Dr. Herbert H. Reynolds, presented to retired members of the Baylor faculty and administration. A high percentage of the members of the Baylor faculty and administration are Baylor alumni, and all are a source of alumni pride.
  • Abner V. McCall Humanitarian Award, recognizing alumni who have exhibited a Christian response to situations and people around them in ways exemplified by the life of former Baylor President Abner V. McCall.

The deadline for submitting nominations is Oct. 31, 2016.  Nominations can be submitted in the following ways:

The committees that will review each nomination have asked that you provide detailed supporting information, including a resume, recommendation letter(s), and either online links or printed material such as newspaper or magazine articles, for your nominee.  In the case of the First Families of Baylor Award, the committee is asking for a comprehensive listing of family members who attended or graduated from Baylor.

“Our 2013 Hall of Fame Dinner at the Waco Convention Center was a wonderful evening that brought together the Baylor family in a way that we didn’t see for the next few years until our Onward! celebration this past June,” said Emily G. Tinsley ’61, who will co-chair the dinner with Gracie Hilton ’67. “We thought it was very important that we hold the return of this event on campus, and expect that we will fill every seat in the Barfield Drawing Room within a short period of time.”

Information about ticket sales and sponsorship opportunities will be announced soon.  Here is a link to a list of past winners since 1981, when the BAA originated many of these awards.

Latest from Baylor Line

Bears on Skis

Joe Gage III grew up on the water, his summer days occupied by buoys and the never-ending pursuit of the


If You Grill It, They Will Come

Hungry Wacoans and Baylor students continue to build Jake Patterson’s Yaki dreams. Teriyaki as it is known today first originated

The Great Waco Water Watch

The City of Waco’s contingency plans for keeping water flowing for residents is top of mind as Texas sizzles in

A (Suspension) Bridge Over (Brazos) Water

The Brazos River’s temperamental mood swings made the cattle driving business unreliable, difficult, and frequently dangerous. In 1866, shortly following

Waco’s Historic Houses of Worship

The Mayborn Museum special exhibit, curated by Dr. Kenneth Hafertepe, is spotlighting where residents find solace in the divine throughout

Baylor Line MAgazine

With over 75 years of storytelling under its belt, the award-winning Baylor Line Magazine is now available digitally. Support this vital, independent voice of Baylor alumni by becoming a member today!